Liberty Township operates as a Limited Home Rule form of government, which is led by a Board of Trustees and Fiscal Officer who each serve a four-year term, and provide professional management through the appointment of a Township Administrator.

Liberty Township Administrator

Hired in March 2023 as Liberty's Township Administrator, Jesse Lightle oversees the day-to-day administration of all township services and reports directly to Liberty Township trustees.

Prior to being selected by the Liberty Township trustees, she served as Township Administrator in Washington Township, Montgomery County from 2008 to early 2023. Her history with the township dates back to 2006 when she was named deputy administrator. During her tenure at Washington Township, she oversaw fire, police, public works, zoning, recreation, human resources, information technology, administration and finance.  Prior to that, she served as assistant city manager for the City of Clayton.

Jesse also has worked as assistant to the city manager for the City of Centerville, community project coordinator for the Wright State University Center for Urban and Public Affairs, and as an adjunct professor in the WSU Master of Public Administration Program.

 Jesse received her Bachelor's of Science Degree Urban Affairs from Wright State in 1999. She has a Master's in Urban Administration from Wright State as well graduating in June 2001.

She currently serves as chair of the Master of Public Administration Advisory Board at Wright State University and is a member of the Cincinnati Area Managers Association and Dayton Area Managers Association. She also is a member of the International City/County Managers Association where she has been a member of the Task Force on Financing and the Ohio City/County Management Association where she served on the Board of Directors from 2006-2013 and as president from 2011 to 2012.  She served on the Commission for Fire Accreditation International from 2020-2022.

Jesse is a member of the Centerville Noon Optimists, having served on the Board from 2013-2016, a recipient of the 40 Under 40 Award from the Dayton Business Journal, was recognized as Administrator of the Year in 2020 from the Montgomery County Township Association.